Leave a comment

Phish has left Miami and I miss them already

I miss Phish.

Yeah, I know. I made a decision to move to South Florida. And I love it. But unfortunately, Phish doesn’t come here often.  And even when they do, I don’t think they are appreciated as much as they should be by the folks in Miami.  It’s hard to get people to check them out around here, even when  you offer them a free ticket.  For those unfamiliar, no they do not play the same songs in a run like this.  Almost everyone dances, and the light show is ridiculous.

We were lucky enough to have them come down in 2009.  I recall a mind-blowing Tuesday night performance.

They returned for the new years run (2014-2015).  Friday, January 2nd’s show was my favorite (Set 2, specifically).  Check it out.  Especially the 2001 Jam.  I’m also including the set list.

Friday, 01/02/2015
American Airlines Arena, Miami, FL

Set 1: Free, The Moma Dance > Possum, Roggae, Stash, Back on the Train, Sugar Shack, The Line, Ocelot, The Squirming Coil

Set 2: Mike’s Song > 46 Days > Weekapaug Groove[1], Fuego > Slave to the Traffic Light, Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001) > Walls of the Cave

Encore: Sleeping Monkey > Rocky Top

[1] Trey on Marimba Lumina, Mike on guitar.

 I changed seats each night.  I didn’t get the floor experience, but even 400-level center seats were a trip.  Here are some of my favorite photos.

I wanted funk, I got funk.  Please, return to Miami soon.

Leave a Reply

