Leave a comment

Want to eat a bunch of Kale quickly? I’ll tell you how to make delicious kale chips.

Kale does not grow in a head like a lettuce, rather it grows as leaves on long stalks.  Kale is often sold in bunches.  My problem was that it will wither rather quickly, and I live alone.  Then, I discovered kale chips, and found I could eat a bunch easily in one day.

Homegrown kale from the garden

You’ll want to wash the leaves and trim the stalk (I throw the stalks out).  Tear or cut the leaves into bite-sized pieces. They will shrink a little as a lot of water is removed while baking.

The secret to delicious kale chips is a salad spinner. Here is the one I use. It’s convenient as it collapses into this form.
Collapsable salad spinner

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F.
Drizzle or spray some Olive Oil right on the leaves in a bowl.
Throw in a pinch of sea salt.  A little salt goes a long way here. You only need a pinch or two.
Spread leaves on a cookie sheet.
Bake the leaves for 5 minutes.
Open the oven, flip or toss the leaves with tongs.
Continue to bake for another 5 minutes or so.

I like mine crispy and I’ll let them get a little brown.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

