Leave a comment

My 10 core components of an Interesting Lifestyle

Daily Practices

I don’t believe in making New Years Resolutions, and I don’t care to make goals public in any format.  I’ve read a lot of books on the reward system and I believe announcing your goal provides a false sense of accomplishment.  But, at one point in time, none of the items listed below were a part of my life.  I committed to each of them until they became habit.  I shoot for continuous improvement.  After the beginner stage, a lot of improvements take a very long period of time, so they won’t happen over night.  Even my weight lifting logs show weeks of really low performance, but the next peak is always higher then the previous one.  So, here is a list of things I practice daily or at least weekly.

Meditate
Probably my most important daily ritual.  I make time even if it’s right before bed.
Workout
I usually work out 3 to 4 days a week.  I take my rest days seriously.

Music
Practice a musical instrument.  Guitar is my favorite instrument of all time.  It’s one of those instruments you can pick up easily and it’s very cheap.

Language
Spanish is a great choice for me, seeing as how I live in South Florida.

Nutrition
Diet, Nutrition and Cooking.  Learn a new sauce or dish every week.  I like to cook Sunday afternoons and then portion out the food for a few weekdays.

Write
Journal or Blog.  I’ve been writing in a journal daily for a few years now, but I feel my writing isn’t progressing, as my writing often looks like notes.  I’ve started this blog to get into a more formal style of writing.  I journal daily, and committed to blog posting weekly.  You’ll want to log your weight lifting progress as well.

Networking
Dunbar’s Law states we can maintain a relationship with about 150 people.  Spend some time catching up with some people you want to continue to be in a relationship with.  Remember to cut out any negative relationships, if possible.

Career
Read a blog or take an online course in a subject matter related to your work.

Read
I always have a non-fiction book loaded up in my Nook.  The occasional fiction book is a nice treat.

Sport
I usually only have time on the weekends, but I enjoy a round or 2 of disc golf.  And my archery range is close by so I can shoot an arrow or a hundred and talk to the guys there.  Going for a walk is always an option.  I love being independent and doing things along, but team sports are a great way to learn leadership and working together.

Leave a Reply

